Hello my friends! I hope this post is finding you all well! I am on way back from a wonderful trip to Ethiopia and Djibouti and am looking forward to catching you all up on my recent adventures. For today’s Flashback Friday I wanted to bring you to one of my favorite cities in Morocco- Fes. This city is absolutely incredible and is home to some of the finest artisans in the world. The majority of crafts, to include leather and pottery goods, are made in Fes and then transported throughout the world. Not only can you get the most quality products here but the prices are way more reasonable then if you purchased them elsewhere, such as Marrakesh.

While in Fes I was told I had to visit the tannery, pictured above. The tannery is located in the heart of the Medina. All the brightly colored vats you see in the picture are filled with different colored dyes. This is where they dye the leather and then fashion it into many different types of goods, such as bags, belts, shoes, and so on. Its amazing to watch the entire process and I found the colors astonishing. Many people ask me the best places to visit in Morocco and I immediately tell them Fes and Chefchouen. Both very different, however, extremely beautiful and interesting in their own ways. I hope you enjoy this picture as much as I do!

Until next time, travel well and travel often!
~Maia

