Tags

, ,

Hello friends. Its 08:00 in the morning and I am sitting in Amsterdam waiting for my flight to Ethiopia. Despite only three hours of sleep, I am awake, alert, the blood is flowing and I have that distinctive warm, even nervous feeling in my stomach. For some reason this feeling only manifests itself when I am heading to Africa. Do not get me wrong- I always look forward to traveling around Europe. However, there seems to be something special about Africa that incites this feeling. Perhaps its because Africa is so different, mysterious, maybe even a little dangerous. It is as if Africa holds the key to adventure and the unexpected. Perhaps it is because you know you will somehow never be the same.

Ethiopia has always been at the top of my bucket list. I find the culture, history, and people very intriguing. Every one I have talked to always raves about the country, its people, and, of course, the food! I am starting off my trip with a few days in Addis Ababa, the capital. Then I am taking a fifteen-day route around the northern part of the country. This will include a four-day trek in the Simian Mountains. Then I will be briefly visiting neighboring Djibouti, but this will be mostly for business.

My route for the next month

As usual, I am uncertain of my internet accessibility, but I promise to post as much as possible. Thanks for reading and stay tuned….this is going to be a good one!

Until next time, travel well and travel often!

Maia

