Tags

, , , ,

Hello my friends! So this is a different type of post for me. The past few months I have been getting a lot of emails asking me to recommend gear for traveling. When I travel I like to pack light and be well prepared for anything that might come my way. I have tested a lot of gear and definitely have some favorites. Since it is the holidays, I decided to put together a traveler holiday gift guide and share these favorites with you. This is going to be a four-part post, each day a different category. All the gear I am recommending in these posts I either own or know someone trustworthy that swears by it.

Today we will begin with the Adventurer. You can find this type of person backpacking through Asia, trekking through Peru, or climbing Mt.Kiliminjaro. This is your ultimate outdoor person. All of the following gear is very easily transportable and very reliable. Click on the product names if you are interested in purchasing. Hope you like it!

Words cannot describe how much I love these shoes. They are available for men and women and are a must for everyone! They are incredibly comfortable and are perfect for trail running, hiking, or walking around a city. These shoes have taken me through the plains of Africa and the Northern Alps. I never leave home without them.

This jacket is the ultimate ultra-light down jacket. It is exceptionally warm (800 down fill) and compacts to the size of a softball. I cannot wait to bring this jacket with me when I hit the ski slopes in Austria. It is definitely the perfect cold weather jacket for traveling and soo comfy!!

Looking back on my past travels, this is a piece of gear I would have loved to have in my pack. I could see myself using it on the beaches in Mozambique or resting at my campsite in Zimbabwe. This hammock is really durable and extremely packable. Additionally, get the double one because you can literally enclose yourself in the hammock, keeping dirt and dust out and warmth in. Definitely great for the adventurous backpackers out there!

Hook this watch on any of your gear and you will be all set for those ultimate trekking adventures. This watch has it all: dual time zones, altimeter, barometer with changing weather reports, thermometer, compass, and alarm functions. Definitely a great and handy piece of gear.

This is my go-to bag when I am traveling around Africa. It is incredibly sturdy, packs a ton, and has wheels for easy maneuverability. i have gone through a lot of suitcases, duffel bags, you name it and this is by far the best piece of luggage I have found on the market.

Every traveler needs a travel journal. If you are in an area that doesn’t have internet, then this is the best way to record your adventures. I like the re-sealable inner pocket which allows you to keep ticket stubs, business cards, or any other random items that remind you of your travels. Also, it has a day to day planner, notes section and check list to help you pack for your next trip. Definitely a great gift!

What gear are you hoping for under your christmas tree this year? Thanks again for reading and stay tuned…tomorrow I will have a great gift guide for that ultimate techy traveler!

Until then, travel well and travel often!
~Maia

