Tags

, , , ,

Hello friends. I have decided to create a weekly post called “flashback friday.” This post is going to feature favorite photos and vignettes from my travels before I started this blog. Hindsight is always 20/20 and if I had known this blog would be so fun and successful I would have started it when I fist began traveling last April. Before this blog I had already visited some amazing African countries such as Morocco, Tunisia, Madagascar, South Africa, Botswana, Zambia, Mauritius, and the Seychelles. I know…that is a lot of countries! I already have a lot of photos from these countries posted on my photo webpage, but I wanted to give you the stories behind them.

So here we go with our first ‘flashback friday.’ I know you all recognize this photo as the header for Bound for Adventure. This is by far one of my most favorite photos I have ever taken. It was taken in Chefchouen, Morocco the day I arrived in this beautiful little village. Chefchouen is nestled in the Rif mountains in northern Morocco. The entire village is painted a myriad of beautiful blue hues and it is one of the most architecturally beautiful places I have ever been to. Additionally, the Berber people who live there are incredibly nice.

On the day I arrived it was raining and a bit chilly.  I had just checked into my charming little hotel, Casa Perleta, and despite the weather, couldn’t wait to explore the little village. I returned a couple of hours later and was walking down some steps to the entryway of my hotel when I saw this woman walk by. The colors of her umbrella against the backdrop of blue walls was visually stunning. I quickly snapped a photo and it wasn’t until I uploaded it onto my computer that I realized how amazing it turned out. It was one of those “one in a million” photos for me. I decided to make it the header for this blog because the woman looks like she is walking with a sense of purpose and beauty. She is on her way somewhere, either home, or perhaps to some far off adventure. To me, this embodied what Bound for Adventure was all about. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

Until next time, travel well and travel often!

~Maia

